Members represent employers, unions, community colleges, other stakeholders

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Labor today announced the appointments of 30 members to serve on the Advisory Committee on Apprenticeship to advise the Secretary of Labor on issues related to the national apprenticeship system. Through their work on the committee, members will leverage their knowledge and experience to provide advice and recommendations on ways to use the apprenticeship training model to improve equitable access to career pathways for America’s workers and jobseekers.

“The newly appointed members of the Advisory Committee on Apprenticeship offer unique perspectives, which the Department of Labor will leverage to develop strategies that drive innovation in apprenticeship,” said Acting Secretary of Labor Julie Su. “The committee represents a broad range of industry and sector knowledge that the department can harness to continue to improve, diversify and modernize the national apprenticeship system.”

Acting Secretary Su appointed Partner4Work CEO Robert Cherry to serve as the committee’s chairperson.

“Strong apprenticeship models are a proven method to create a sustainable pipeline of skilled and talented workers in communities across America,” said Partner4Work CEO Robert Cherry. “Serving as chairperson of the Department of Labor’s Advisory Committee on Apprenticeship is a wonderful opportunity to work with Acting Secretary Su, the department and the committee to utilize apprenticeship to help meet the emerging needs of industry, labor organizations and the public.”

Following the request for nominations, the department appointed leaders from across the Registered Apprenticeship system, including employers, labor management organizations, community colleges and other organizations to serve a two-year term. Representatives from the U.S. departments of Commerce, Education, Energy, Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, Health and Human Services and the Office of Personnel Management serve as ex-officio committee members.

Chairperson: Partner4Work CEO Robert Cherry

Employer representatives:

CareerWise USA: Founder, CEO and Chairman of the Board Noel Ginsburg
Center for Energy Workforce Development: Executive Director Melissa Henriksen
Computer Technology Industry Association: Senior Vice President, Strategic Workforce Relationships Amy Kardel
German-American Chamber of Commerce of the Midwest Inc.: Vice President Mario Kratsch
The Hartford: Senior Vice President, Claims Karmela K. Malone
National Institute for Innovation and Technology: President and CEO Michael Russo
Maryland Tech Council: CEO Kelly M. Schulz
Encore Electric Inc.: Construction industry advocate David Scott
Aon: Vice President, Government and Public Affairs Daniel Serota
Early Care and Education Pathways to Success: Executive Director Dr. Randi Beth Wolfe
Labor representatives:

United Association of Journeymen and Pipe Fitting Industry of the U.S., Canada: Training Director Raymond W. Boyd
1199SEIU Training and Employment Funds: Deputy Executive Director Daniel Bustillo
Amalgamated Transit Union, AFL-CIO/Central Labor Councils: Director, Apprenticeships and Workforce Development Jamaine L. Gibson
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees District 1199J: Executive Director, Training and Development Fund Stephanie Harris-Kuiper
American Federation of Teachers, Vice President, and Connecticut State Senator Jan Hochadel
National Education Association: Executive Committee member Shannon McCann
Laborers’ International Union of North America: Assistant Executive Director Bernadette Oliveira-Rivera
International Union of Painters and Allied Trades Finishing Trades Institute: Executive Director Anton P. Ruesing
electrical training ALLIANCE: Executive Director Todd W. Stafford
AFL-CIO Working for America Institute: Deputy Director Liz Weiss
Public representatives:

National Association of State and Territorial Apprenticeship Directors: President Todd G. Berch
National Center for Women’s Equity in Apprenticeship and Employment, Chicago Women in Trades: Tradeswomen Building Infrastructure Program Director Cristina Barillas-McEntee
Apprenticeship and Nontraditional Employment for Women: Executive Director Karen Dove
Advance CTE: Executive Director Kate Kreamer
Foothill-De Anza Community College District: Chancellor Lee D. Lambert
Machinists Institute: Executive Director Shana Peschek
National Urban League: Vice President, Workforce Development Traci R. Scott
New America: Director, Partnership to Advance Youth Apprenticeship and Postsecondary Pathways for Youth Taylor C. White
San Francisco Office of Economic and Workforce Development, TechSF: Senior Workforce Development Specialist Orrian Elijah Willis

Agency Employment and Training Administration
Date March 6, 2024

Skip to content